Nov 24 2009

Pretending to be Google?!!!

Published by cyza at 12:04 am under Blogging ~ Sharring, Happenings

Is this a scam? Why will Google ask this particular of information from us? They are smart enough. They are the internet King now.

——————————————————————–

Dear Customer,

This Email is from Gmail customer care and we are sending it to every Gmail accounts owner for safety. We are having congestion due to the anonymous registration of Gmail accounts so we are shutting down some Gmail accounts in other to avoid identity theft.

Gmail would be shutting down all unused Accounts, you will have to confirm your E-mail by filling out your Login Information below after clicking the reply button or your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.

* User name: ………………………..

* Password: ………………………..

* Date of Birth: ……………………….

* Country Or Territory: ………………..

Note: This email is only for Gmail users. Failure to comply with this may result to losing your account permanently.

Thank you for using Gmail !
The Gmail Team

——————————————————————–

I didn’t reply to this email. I checked with Azwan and he said he never received such thing too from his gmail account. Anybody received the same email before?

More Related Posts:

4 responses so far

4 Responses to “Pretending to be Google?!!!”

  1. azwanon 25 Nov 2009 at 10:01 am

    It’s already way over 24 hours, you still have your account :)

    [Reply]

    cyza reply on November 25, 2009 5:53 pm:

    Yep, that’s true. After checking with you, I know this must be an evil scam.

    Morale of the story > Be careful

    [Reply]

  2. myloon 03 Dec 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Hi Zaki!

    Thank you for visiting my photo & travel blog!

    This is an email scam. I received similar emails about resetting banking and paypal accounts.

    Some of them even created a look-alike login page to capture your username, password and credit card details. You may want to read this article:

    http://rojaks.blogspot.com/2006/09/scam-alert-public-bank-pbebank.html

    Cheers!
    mylo

    [Reply]

    cyza reply on December 3, 2009 7:15 pm:

    Hi Mylo,

    Thanks for the advice and also the link. We better becareful of all this scam… damn it…

    [Reply]

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply